National Press Day 2018: Twitterati Greet Journalists, Media HousesWishesh Special

November 16, 2018 10:56
National Press Day 2018: Twitterati Greet Journalists, Media Houses

(Image source from: NewsFront)

November 16 is observed as National Press Day to commemorate the initiation of the Press Council of India.

It was established in 1966 to keep a curb on Indian press' standards and that is not influenced or affected by external factors.

National Press Day is believed to showcase the free and responsible press in the country. 

The Press Council organizes various seminars commemorating the day.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will kick off the National Press Day celebrations in New Delhi today. The event will likewise be attended by representatives from neighboring Press Councils of SAARC countries - Bangladesh, Nepal, Maldives, and Sri Lanka.

Interim, Twitterati including leaders, politicians, journalists among others has taken to Twitter sending National Press Day wishes.

In 1956, the Press Council of India was formed by the Parliament on the recommendations of the First Press Commission.

While appealing for a Press Council, the commission had said that the best way of maintaining professional ethics in journalism would be to bring into existence "a body with statutory authority, of people principally connected with an industry whose duty it would be to arbitrate".

National Press Day has been witnessing seminars since the year 1997.

The Press Council of India was first constituted on July 4, 1966, as an autonomous, statutory, quasi-judicial body, with Justice J R Mudholkar, then a Judge of the Supreme Court, as Chairman.

Press Council of India Chairman CK Prasad on Thursday said that the winners of the National Awards for Excellence in Journalism will be honored at the event held on Friday.

Chairman and journalist of the Hindu Publishing Group, N Ram has been selected for the category of Raja Ram Mohan Roy award. Ruby Sarkar, Chief Correspondent of Deshbandhu, Bhopal and Rajesh Joshte of Daily Pudhari in Ratnagiri will share the award in the category of Rural Journalism category.

The selection was conducted by a jury consisting of senior editors, and working journalists, among others.

By Sowmya

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)