Mumbai Indians clinched its third IPL trophyCricket

May 22, 2017 05:28
Mumbai Indians clinched its third IPL trophy

The Final match of the 10 edition of IPL took place in Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad between bitter state rivals, Mumbai Indians who already had won the competition twice and first time finalists Rising Pune Supergiants. After disappointing play-off matches, cricket enthusiasts were excited for a grand clash. It was not just about the trophy. It was the pride that they were craving for as the team lost thrice this season to RPS, twice in front of its own home crowd at Wankhede.

If RPS though that they would boss over two time champions Mumbai, they were in for a rude shock as MI skipper and Co stifled their chase with Jasprit Bumrah and Mitchell Johnson sounding their death knell with two splendid last overs that pinned them to 128/6.

After beating Kolkata Knightriders to reach finals in 2nd qualifies, Mumbai Indians chose to bat first after winning the toss, the summit clash turned out to be a seat of the edge thriller.

Both the teams went unchanged, but definitely the fortunes of Mumbai changed against a team that beat them thrice this season and despite posting the lowest total in an IPL final by a team batting first, Mumbai won the match by 1 run.

In the first 15 overs Mumbai scored just 81 runs losing 8 wickets and in the next 30 balls they added 48 runs bringing the total to 129.

it was apparent that Krunal Pandya (47 off 38balls) could have done some damage on RPS with some support from the top order that hit the self-destruct button a touch too soon.

Bowlers Jaydev Unadkat and Washington Sundar were so brilliant that made it very difficult for Mumbai batsmen to get runs and they slowly perished to ordinary shots.

Shardul Thakur came up with a blinder at deep midwicket to get rid of skipper Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tiwary made no mistake with Kieron Pollard's straightforward chance.

RPS looked confident when its opening batsmen came to bat. It was a low total for a final match. But sometimes overconfidence can eat you up that is what happened to RPS last night. Rohit Sharma tightened the fielding position and bowlers constantly took out Pune Batsmen.

Rahane scored 44 of 38 balls. He added 54 runs for the second wicket with Smith. But Mumbai were not done yet.

Where Mumbai were 81 for seven after 15, Pune were 83 for two with five overs to go.

MS Dhoni playing his seventh final failed to perform and Mumbai made a tight fist of it.

Smith’s 51 off 50 balls took his team to the threshold but their inability to force the pace in the middle overs cost them dear as Mumbai closed in for the kill. Pune needed 30 from last three and 11 from the last over when Johnson struck twice to get rid of Tiwary and Smith. The task proved beyond the rest and Mumbai have reason to savor the best of their IPL triumphs.



If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)